Upcoming Events

December 8th and 9th, Dennis Patrick Slattery, one of JSA’s most popular presenters returns to delve into C.G. Jung’s magnum opus, The Red Book. On Friday evening, he presents The Red Book as Poetic Epic: a spiritual and psychological journey in the tradition of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy. On Saturday, Slattery offers a Riting Retreat, his fourth for JSA, titled Jung’s Red Book as an Analogy of our Own Pilgrimage. He will guide a journey, gifting participants the opportunity to delve into a world filled with unexpected revelations.

Dennis Patrick Slattery, Ph.D. is an Emeritus Professor who teaches in the Mythological Studies Program at Pacifica Graduate Institute in Carpinteria. He has taught for 45 years in elementary, secondary, college and graduate level positions. He is the author, coauthor, editor or coeditor of 24 volumes, including six volumes of poetry and one co-authored novel. He has also published over 200 articles in newspapers, magazines, journals and on line publications. His most current book is A Pilgrimage Beyond Belief: Spiritual Journeys through Christian and Buddhist Monasteries of the American West (Angelico Press, 2017).  He also paints in acrylics and has completed 14 paintings. He offers riting personal myth retreats in the United States, Canada and Europe.

He will arrive early at 6:30 to sign books and this is a great opportunity to get to know one of our most loved and treasured presenters.

1. The Wounded Body: Remembering the Markings of Flesh

2. Riting Myth, Mythic Writing: Plotting Your Personal Story.

3. Creases in Culture: Essays on a Poetics of Depth.

4. A Limbo of Shards: Essays on Memory, Myth and Metaphor.

5. Bridge Work: Essays on Mythology, Literature and Psychology.

6. Varieties of Mythic Experience: Essays on Religion, Psyche and Culture.

7. A Pilgrimage Beyond Belief: Spiritual Journeys through Christian and Buddhist Monasteries of the American West. NEW, 2017.

8. Reimagining Education: Revising the Soul of Learning.

9. Harvesting Darkness: Essays on Literature, Myth, Film and Culture.

10. Feathered Ladder: Selected Poems of Dennis Patrick Slattery and Brian Landis.

11. Day-to-Day Dante: Exploring Personal Myth Through The Divine Comedy.

12. Our Daily Breach: Exploring Your Personal Myth Through Herman Melville’s Moby-Dick.

More info is available about Dennis on his website.

Dennis Patrick Slattery, Ph.D with one of his latest paintings

Dennis Slattery, Ph.D. Presents: THE RED BOOK as Poetic Epic

Dec. 8th, 6:30-9:30pm

Jung’s epic poem is a spiritual and psychological journey in the tradition of Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy, or Commedia and Herman Melville’s Moby-Dick. Jung knew both of these epics with some familiarity and in many instances,perhaps used them as templates for his own pilgrimage.
But to understand the literary genre of epic, one should know how it fits into a universe of genres that include: Lyric, Tragedy, Comedy and Epic, which the Greek philosopher Aristotle described in his Poetics. Literary theorist Dr. Louise Cowan developed Aristotle’s insights on genres further in her 65 years in the classroom. I prefer to call these territories or terrains “genretypes,” for as archetypes of the soul they represent the cosmos of our life situated within a mandala, with each genre containing three moments or paths toward insight. The power of Epic is that it contains all the other genres within it. The lecture will explore these genretypes as they together offer “ a complete cosmos that makes up the whole of man’s image of himself,” as Cowan has written. A diagram of these terrains will aid us in reflecting on such mytho-poetic moments.

1.5 CEUs available

Tickets available at the door

**Please note: Lecture admission is included in the workshop ticket price. All you have to do is buy the workshop ticket and let us know when you check in at the lecture!**

 

 

Riting Retreat: Jung’s Red Book as an Analogy of Our Own Pilgrimage.

Dec. 9th, 10am-4pm

By means of a particular set of instances, or moments, in Jung’s The Red Book, which we will read together, we will reflect on our own story and remember where analogous conditions and occasions entered to help construct who we are and are becoming. Jung’s journey offers us each a rich opportunity to see the deeper mythos of our own story and grasp how it fits into a grand narrative that comprises our developing life of meaning and purpose.

If you own A Reader’s Edition, please bring it. I will furnish the pages if you do not.

For this retreat, please bring pen and journal and leave laptops at home. Cursive writing, I suggest, offers a more meditative way into reflection and meditation on the passages we will entertain and be guided by.

Bring your lunch; snacks will be provided.

5 CEU’s available

Tickets available at the door.

 

 

**Please note: Workshop admission price includes lecture ticket. All you have to do is buy the workshop ticket and let us know when you check in at the lecture!**